Member Login

Local Government Award

The Local Government Award is an annual award that recognises the Queensland Local Government that demonstrates outstanding community service through delivery of an individual program or service.

The winner is determined by the QPLA Executive Board based on how well the applicant’s submission addresses the criteria.  The winner is announced annually at either the QPLA Conference or Professional Development Intensive.

The Award winner receives $1,000 for their library service.

2021 LG Awards – Closing Date Extended to 15 September 2021

To apply and for further information, download the LGA Award Submission Form 2021.

2020 LG Award Winner:  Moreton Bay Region Libraries

Congratulations to this year’s recipient :  Pop Up Space in the Library celebrating PLAY in Moreton Bay Region Libraries.

Well done to all nominees for the high calibre of submissions in 2020 – keep up the great work!

2020 LG Award Nominees:

Local Government Project Name
Paroo Shire Council Storytime at Cunnamulla Library
Mackay Regional Council Mackay Pop-Up Library
Moreton Bay Region Libraries PUPS in the Library
Flinders Regional Council Stage 1 – FSPL Outreach
Bundaberg Regional Library Library Digitisation Project
Lockyer Valley Libraries Lockyer Valley Story Path
Rockhampton Libraries Rockhampton Staff Capacity
Ipswich Libraries Dive into Books: Kids Alive
Ipswich Libraries Karalee Pod
Ipswich Libraries Building Better Libraries

Local Government Awards submissions 2020